My Life As an Alphabet by Barry Jonsberg. Introducing Candice Phee: twelve years old, hilariously honest and a little ... odd. But she has a big heart, the very best of intentions and an unwavering determination to ensure everyone is happy. So she sets about trying to 'fix' all the problems of all the people [and pets] in her life.

My Life as An Alphabet Barry Jonsberg Winner of the 2014 Victorian Premier’s Literary Award for Young Adults and the Gold Inky Award winner

Winger by Andrew Smith. Ryan Dean West is a 14-year-old junior at a boarding school for rich kids. He’s living in Opportunity Hall, the dorm for troublemakers, and rooming with the biggest bully on the rugby team. And he’s madly in love with his best friend Annie, who thinks of him as a little boy. With the help of his sense of humor, rugby buddies, and his penchant for doodling comics, Ryan Dean manages to survive life’s complications and even find some happiness along the way.

Winger by Andrew Smith. Younger than his classmates at a boarding school, Ryan Dean West grapples with living in the dorm for troublemakers, falling for his friend who thinks of him as just a kid, and playing wing on the Varsity rugby team.

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews. Greg Gaines is the last master of high school espionage, able to disappear at will into any social environment. He has only one friend, Earl, and together they spend their time making movies. Until Greg's mother forces him to rekindle his childhood friendship with Rachel who has been diagnosed with leukemia. When Rachel stops treatment, Greg and Earl decide the thing to do is to make a film for her, which turns into the Worst Film Ever Made.

Seventeen-year-old Greg has managed to become part of every social group at his Pittsburgh high school without having any friends, but his life changes when his mother forces him to befriend Rachel, a girl he once knew in Hebrew school who has leukemia.

Dead End in Norvelt by Jack Gantos. A kid named Jack Gantos, whose plans for vacation excitement are shot down when he is “grounded for life” by his feuding parents, and whose nose spews bad blood at every little shock he gets. But plenty of excitement (and shocks) are coming Jack’s way once his mom loans him out to help a feisty old neighbor with a most unusual chore—typewriting obituaries filled with stories about the people who founded his utopian town.

Melding the entirely true and the wildly fictional, Dead End in Norvelt is a novel about an incredible two months for a kid named Jack Ganto.

When Mr. Dog Bites / Brian Conaghan. A blindingly funny, poignant, and unforgettable story of a teen’s struggle to confront his Tourette’s and to take charge of his life.

When Mr. Dog Bites

Newest Books, Movies & Music - Teen in the Gaston County Public Library for October 2014

Granny by Anthony Horowitz. Twelve-year-old Joe Warden isn’t happy. Sure, he’s rich, but his parents don’t care about him. His grandmother should make everything better, except that Joe’s granny is a nightmare. She’s not just physically repulsive, she’s horribly mean. Everyone thinks she’s just a dotty old woman, but Joe knows the truth. He’s seen behind her mask and glimpsed the wicked glimmer in her eyes—she is pure evil. And now she’s out to get Joe . . .

Anthony Horowitz is a British writer. His works include the Alex Rider series, Sherlock Holmes and James Bond novels and Foyle's War for television.

The Unforgotten Coat by Frank Cottrell Boyce. Two refugee brothers from Mongolia are determined to fit in with their Liverpool schoolmates, but bring so much of Mongolia to Bootle that their new friend and guide, Julie, is hard-pressed to know truth from fantasy.

Julie becomes the "Good Guide" to two Mongolian brothers who ­arrive at her school. They're oddly dressed in huge woolly coats and Chengis is very protective of his younger brother ­Nergui. The Unforgotten Coat by Frank Cottrell Boyce

Dragons at Crumbling Castle: And Other Stories by Terry Pratchett. Dragons have invaded Crumbling Castle, and all of King Arthur’s knights are either on holiday or visiting their grannies. It’s a disaster! Luckily, there’s a spare suit of armour and a very small boy called Ralph who’s willing to fill it. Together with Fortnight the Friday knight and Fossfiddle the wizard, Ralph sets out to defeat the fearsome fire-breathers. But there's a teeny weeny surprise in store . . .

Come and explore our world, lose yourself in a book, find your next read and hear from the authors you love.

Awful Auntie by David Walliams. Aunt Alberta, may look respectable, with her posh friends and passion for tiddlywinks. But we think it’s a fair guess that she’s going to be awesomely evil… With a swindling aunt, a ghostly chimney sweep and a pet owl not called Hedwig. Spooky, daft and crazy funny.

Stella Saxby is the sole heir to Saxby Hall. But awful Aunt Alberta and her giant owl will stop at nothing to get it from her. Luckily Stella has a secret.

Doctor Proctor's Fart Powder by Jo Nesbo. Eleven-year-old Nilly moves to his new neighborhood in Oslo, Norway, and meets his neighbor, Doctor Proctor, an eccentric professor who invents wacky potions and powders—including an industrial strength fart powder that can send people to outer space.

The NOOK Book (eBook) of the Jo Nesbo's Fart Powder Series: Doctor Proctor's Fart Powder, Bubble in the Bathtub, Who Cut the Cheese by Jo Nesbo, Mike

Geektastic: Stories From the Nerd Herd. Acclaimed authors Holly Black and Cecil Castellucci have united in geekdom to edit short stories from some of the best selling and most promising geeks in young adult literature: M.T. Anderson, Libba Bray, Cassandra Clare, John Green, Tracy Lynn, Cynthia and Greg Leitich Smith, David Levithan, Kelly Link, Barry Lyga, Wendy Mass, Garth Nix, Scott Westerfield, Lisa Yee, and Sara Zarr.

Geektastic (Stories from the Nerd Herd) - edited by Holly Black & Cecil Castellucci

The Improbable Theory of Ana & Zak / Brian Katcher. A hilarious he said/she said romance about two teens discovering themselves on an out-of-this-world accidental first date at a sci-fi convention.

Perfect for fans of Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist and The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight, The Improbable Theory of Ana and Zak is.

Pinterest
Search